City People in Ink

City People in Ink

City People in Ink

One of the hardest things to draw in a landscape are the people. Today I really struggled to draw the human form. There are several bits of discarded zombie drawings on my office floor right now. In this attempt that I’ve chosen to share with you, I have to confess I used a cheating method. I found a photograph online, wound down the resolution something shocking so you can barely make out any detail and printed it. Using trace paper I outlined the people roughly in pencil and then with another piece of tracing paper, discarding the photo, I used an ink pen to sketch the abstract shapes of people making up some bits in between.

It really puzzles me how lines and shapes can easily represent a person even if it’s a distorted abstraction of a person while other attempts just look like seriously terrible drawings.

What do you think?

